Multiple intelligences and how we could deal with them – homework for may 17

As we’ve been talking in class about the different characteristics of pupils concerning learning and random conditions like classroom management and different learning styles, its mainly important to analyze who we, that’s to say, we as teachers are.  First of all we need to know a bit more about ourselves to be able to guide and accompaign students in their learning process in a constructive way. Just talking to and with them won’t be enough, and that’s what we can deduce reading Dörnyei for example; in his ten commandments for motivating language learners he includes several points dealing with the relationship between teacher and pupil, e.g. to set a personal example with our own behaviour or to develop a good relationship with the learners. But when I instead, in my role as a teacher could not tell them about my preferences, my own way of learning, how will I be able to set a personal example? And to develop a good relationship with them I need to be authentic and in a certain – limited- way, transparent for them: transparent concerning my language teaching and assessing.

In my own (German) classes, I tend to not discuss with students about their learning styles, nor the different types of intelligences existing. That’s to say that all in all, I haven’t talked to them about the background to language learning and teaching. But the more we talk about this in TKT class, the more I understand its importance for my own classes and will integrate this discourse.

Here is first of all my own multiple intelligences map that I do agree with a 100 percent. Inconsciously I have known about my preferences, about my needs and ways to learn but I never thought about making it colourful and in a graphic’s form.

my multiple intelligences

The next step for me will be to use these link of Birmingham’s Multiple Intelligences Test in my German class to make students be aware of the background to language learning. Make them feel more responsible and goal-oriented in their learning. And by this make my classes become more student centered.

By knowing their multiple intelligences we could make a needs’ analysis all together and could work on the different ways of language learning in class. And furthermore all the activities planned or offered can be divided into special experts’ groups, as e.g. a musical intelligence learner is more kind in working with music and could be working on a certain subject by music while somebody else that is logical-mathematical would prefer using numbers, scales, diagrams where from he/she could deduce meanings and present them afterwards to his group. The learner whose linguistic intelligence is very strong would prefer to read and write, listen perhaps to oral presentations such as debates e.g. on the internet. A project I would like to try with my group is the market place, also known as: working at stations, where each learner is asked to use the material offered to him at a special station and in the end have them all come together and present their results, that could be published then in the university’s floor.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

